Who We Are

The Western Queensland Primary Health Network

Western Queensland PHN is one of 31 Primary Health Networks (PHNs) established and funded by the Commonwealth Government to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of primary care services for patients, particularly those at risk of poor health outcomes. 

WQPHN is a ‘commissioner’ of services, not a provider. 

As a commissioner the WQPHN are responsible for planning and funding primary health care services, and we do this through our commissioning and development framework.

Read Our Comissioning and Development Framework

The Commonwealth has indicated a particular emphasis on 6 areas of primary health care:

  • Mental health and addictions
  • Aboriginal health
  • Population health
  • Aged care
  • Health workforce
  • eHealth 

The Western Queensland PHN’s goal is to improve the integration of primary care services to create seamless health care in our shared communities across one million square kilometres of Western Queensland.